My Dynamic Hold List

foodlab Because I borrow most of my books from the public library, I will often place hold requests on titles through the online catalog.  The number of titles on my hold request list will vary, from hardcover books to eBooks, audiobooks to music, and DVDs, and can often be as high as 50 items.  And that number will increase and decrease as I continuously read and listen to reviews.  But let’s talk about books.  What’s on my hold list at this moment?

Go Set a Watchman by Harper LeeMany of my co-workers have refused to read this To Kill a Mockingbird sequel, out of fear that it might taint their memories of one of literature’s beloved characters.  I’ll let you you know if that happens after I read the book.

Winter by Marissa Meyer.  Fans are anxiously awaiting the release of this fourth installment of the Lunar Chronicles series.  Part fairy tale and part science fiction, each title in the series introduces a futuristic version of a traditional fairy tale character.

George by Alex Gino. Transgender is a major topic in the news.   And so it is in children’s books, with this title about gender identity and the process of coming out at a young age.george

Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas HardyAhhhhhhh–the overwhelming grasp of fate.  I love Thomas Hardy novels.  Somehow, this one has escaped me.

Come Rain or Come Shine by Jan Karon.  I was late to the Mitford series, but love the delightful tales and the tongue-in-cheek humor about retired Episcopalian priest, Father Tim and his children’s author wife, Cynthia .

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman.  Novelist, screenwriter, graphic novelist, lover of libraries and reading.  I’ve never been a big Gaiman fan, but I am looking forward to reading this re-imagined fairy tale.

The Food Lab: Better Home Cooking Through Science by J. Kenji Lopez-Alt.  I generally prefer fiction over nonwinter-fiction, but love biographies and cookbooks.  The word “science” in the title was the gotcha for me.

Dashing Through the Snow by Debbie Macomber.  The annual Christmas novel release by Macomber.  One of my guilty pleasures is reading books about Christmas during the holiday season.

Here’s a quirky factoid.  In the few days it took me to write this post, I added approximately 20 more titles to my hold list.  But that’s a tale for another day.

Leave a Reply

