And Now For Something Completely Different

Why, you madisonmight ask, did you read THAT book?  Never judge a book by it’s cover or a person’s book selections, I would say.  And here’s the truth.  In the early 1970s I spent time at the Great Gorge Playboy Club.  The new club was a few miles away from the college I was attending, and the company was using students to help with their soft opening.  It was brief, lucrative, and eye-opening.  End of story.

Several years ago, when The Girls Next Door premiered on E!, I rarely missed an episode.  The world of Hugh Hefner is so completely different from my own, that I found it comforting to know that I was not part of that fantasy world.  And the book? Down the Rabbit Hole by Holly Madison is about her scrappy rise to be Hefner’s number one girlfriend on The Girls Next Door, their break-up, and her post Playboy career as a Vegas headliner, wife, and mother.  Is the book accurate?  We will probably never know. But I found Madison’s candor to be refreshing and the book’s gossip-factor to be fascinating.

In other book news, I just picked up the audio edition of Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman, which I will begin tomorrow.  I am half-way though The Marvels by Brian Selznick.  And I’m also starting Come Rain or Come Shine by Jan Karon.  Happy Reading.

Leave a Reply

