The Force Awakens

A few weeks ago I wrote a blog post that offered my impression of Star Wars: Aftermath by Chuck Wendig.  The novel was a complete shift in reading genres for me.  But when I turned to the last page of the novel I found myself wanting more of the same.  And then came the publication of Star Wars: The Force Awakens and one of the best reasons for self-inflicted sleep deprivation.

forceWritten by Alan Dean Foster, the novelization of Episode VII in the Star Wars movie series fills in several holes left wide-open in the film by J. J. Abrams.  I won’t divulge with annoying spoilers, but I will say that the novel reveals more about what Ren suspects about Rey—information that is also known by Snoke.  As for the speculation about Snoke and his past, we know that he goes back before the rise of the Galactic Empire.

For pure reading entertainment and more answers to questions you may have about The Force Awakens film, I encourage you to read the book.  Those prone to instant gratification can read this article from the Independent that reveals 16 questions answered by The Force Awakens novelization (definite spoilers ahead).

Next on my Star Wars reading list is A New Hope, also written by Alan Dean Foster as George Lucas’ ghost writer.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

